Days 21-30, actually.

Good morning, you.

Reporting on the last ten days here seems more beneficial than trying to check in every day or even every few days. This is a long-distance haul, not a quick trip.

Since I last posted, I’ve hurt my back, and my entire perspective is undergoing shifts. The first injury–well, it’s hard to say. August exactly two years ago, while teaching contact improvisation to modern dancers who’d never done it before, I was trying to demonstrate a simple lift and asked a student to “do nothing” and let me take her weight. well she jumped on my back, and my sacrum has never felt the same since then. With excellent massage therapy, the pain went away for a long, long time. Then this June–am I boring you yet?–before a dance concert in West Memphis, I injured it big time. I moved something I shouldn’t have moved without help. big, awkard, low, and very very heavy. Then proceeded to dance anyway, in terrible pain.

That laid me low for four full days, with accupuncture sessions, ibuprofen, ice, bedrest, I awoke on the fifth day like a newborn, and went right back to my life.

Last Sunday I stepped back into that painful chasm somehow, and this is day 8. Had my first MRI on Thursday–I cried. Have you ever been in that tunnel of light and cyber-punk drones and thumps? what the hell is an MRI anyway? let me find out. maybe it’s a course in miracles.

an mri is magnetic resonance imagery. Sounds pretty common sense to me. The cool thing is it aligns all your water cells temporarily then sends little slices of radio waves through, head to toe, sniffing out disturbances.

this is a lot like letting a dog lick you, seems to me.

Anyhow, I finished day 30 of A Course in Miracles yesterday. I am disoriented, as though I just found out I have been saving money all my life for something that was always mine at birth and need never be replaced, always new.

sending you love, simply.

šŸ™‚

Leave a comment